Winterhawks win WHL championship - KPTV - FOX 12

Winterhawks win WHL championship

Posted: Updated: May 12, 2013 07:28 PM

The Portland Winterhawks claimed the third WHL title in franchise history Sunday by defeating the Edmonton Oil Kings 5-1 in Game 6 of the final at Rexall Place in Edmonton.

Ty Rattie earned MVP honors by capping the playoffs with a hat trick, breaking the WHL record for career playoff goals in the process.

Edmonton scored first after just a minute of play. The Hawks got on the board at the 4:28 mark when Ty Rattie scored a shorthanded goal to tie the game. It was Rattie's 48th career playoff goal, passing Mark Pederson as the WHL's all-time leading playoff scorer.

Rattie quickly made it 49 career postseason goals at the 7:15 mark to make it 2-1, which remained the score going into the second period.

Portland extended the lead 3:54 into the second when Oliver Bjorkstrand scored. The Hawks added another when Rattie completed the hat trick and scored his 50th career playoff goal at the 13:25 mark as Portland took a 4-1 lead into the third period.

It remained 4-1 until Taylor Leier capped the scoring with an empty net to give the Hawks the 5-1 win and the title.

The 2012-13 Winterhawks join the 1981-82 and 1997-98 squads as league champions, and have earned a place in the Memorial Cup, set for May 17-26 in Saskatoon.

Copyright KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.