Timbers players Valeri, Ricketts pick up big MLS awards - KPTV - FOX 12

Timbers players Valeri, Ricketts pick up big MLS awards

Posted: Updated:
Diego Valeri Diego Valeri
Donovan Ricketts Donovan Ricketts

Major League Soccer announced the winners of two more postseason awards Wednesday, and both went to Portland Timbers players.

Argentine midfielder Diego Valeri and Jamaican goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts both received honors.

Valeri, who led MLS with 13 assists and finished as Portland's top goalscorer, was voted the 2013 MLS Newcomer of the Year by media, MLS players and MLS management. He's the third consecutive Argentine player to be named Newcomer of the Year, following Seattle's Mauro Rosales (2011) and Columbus forward Federico Higuain (2012).

Valeri received 72 percent of the vote. That's far ahead of the runners up Jose Goncalves of New England (6 percent) and Nigel Reo-Coker of Vancouver (6 percent).

Ricketts, meanwhile, received the 2013 Goalkeeper of the Year award for the second time in his career. Ricketts logged 10 of Portland's MLS single-season record 11 home shutouts during the regular season, and his 14 clean sheets are tied for the most shutouts in a single season for a Timbers goalkeeper across all eras.

He received 51 percent of the vote for the postseason award. Nick Rimando of Real Salt Lake finished second with 22 percent of the vote.

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:

2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers

2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City

2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy

2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA

2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire

2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA

2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United

2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids

2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes

2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy

1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire

1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew

1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn

MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners:

2013: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers

2012: Federico Higuaín – Columbus Crew

2011: Mauro Rosales – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Alvaro Saborío – Real Salt Lake

2009: Fredy Montero – Seattle Sounders FC

2008: Darren Huckerby – San Jose Earthquakes

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

Copyright 2013 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.