2014 Campaign Close-up: Election night updates blog - KPTV - FOX 12

2014 Campaign Close-up: Election night updates blog

Posted: Updated:
(KLTV) -

It's a big night in East Texas politics: the 2014 primary elections.

There are many interesting races across the state, and we will take a look at them here. Refresh this page often to see updates and additions.

Some things to keep in mind: if a candidate does not have a challenger in from the opposing party, the person they defeat in their own party tonight could declare Independent tomorrow and run against them in the November general election.

Also, a newcomer could jump in as in Independent. The bottom line is a candidate unopposed after the primary results are in tonight is not the official winner of the office yet.

The big races, of course, are the Governor and Lieutenant Governor races. Gregg Abbott is hoping to secure the Republican nomination for Governor, while Wendy Davis has been a big name in the Democratic party this year as a potential candidate for their party.

The following candidates will be headed to run-off elections in May:

  • Dan Patrick and Incumbent Lt. Governor David Dewhurst will face off in the May 27, 2014, primary runoff.
  • In the primary race for Democratic Texas Agriculture Commissioner, Jim Hogan and Kinky Friedman will face off.
  • In the race for Texas Attorney General, Ken Paxton will face Dan Branch in the May runoff.
  • For US House, District 4 Republican primary, Incumbent Ralph Hall will face John Ratcliffe in a runoff.
  • In the race for US House, District 36, Brian Babin will face Ben Streusand.

There are several races for which the AP has already declared winners:


  • Republican nominee: Greg Abbott
  • Democratic nominee: Wendy Davis

It is interesting to note that Wendy Davis is the first female Democratic nominee since Gov. Ann Richards secured the nomination in 1990.

Texas Land Commissioner: George P. Bush

U.S. Senate, Republican: John Cornyn

At this point, US Senate Democratic Primary hopeful David Alameel has 51% of the vote as of 8:35 p.m., with 108,090 votes, with Kesha rogers trailing with 47,950 vote, or 23% of the vote.

Maxey Scherr has 28,305 votes, Harry Kim has 19,081, and Fjet Fjetland has 9,077. This race has not been called at this time.

The AP has called the race for Texas Lt. governor.

Dan Patrick earned 43% of the vote, with 341,717 votes, and Dewhurst has 225,781 votes.

East Texan Todd Staples finishes third with 137,443. Run-off election will take place in May 2014.

Final results are in for several high-profile elections in Smith County:

In the primary race for State House, District 6 Republican Matt Schaefer defeated challenger Skip Ogle. Schaefer will face Libertarian candidate Joel Gardner in the November general election.

In the Smith County Judge Republican primary, Joel Baker was victorious over challenger John Furlow. Baker had 11,483 votes, compared to John Furlow's 8,813.

Incumbent Matt Bingham won the Republican nomination for Smith County Criminal District Attorney, defeating challenger Austin Reeve Jackson. Bingham had 15,208 votes to Reeve's 5,268.

Incumbent Judge Carole Clark was also victorious this evening, defeating John R. Jarvis in the primary race for Smith Co. District Judge, 321st District Court by a vote of 13,262 to 7,206. 

Go to KLTV.com/elections for much more on today's elections.

Copyright 2014 KLTV. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.