Oregon Ducks QB Marcus Mariota becomes first in school history t - KPTV - FOX 12

Oregon Ducks QB Marcus Mariota becomes first in school history to win Heisman Trophy

Posted: Updated:

Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota was named the winner of the Heisman Trophy Award on Saturday in New York City.

He beat out Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Alabama receiver Amari Cooper to become the first University of Oregon player to win college football's most prestigious individual award. Only former Ducks Joey Harrington (fourth, 2001) and running back LaMichael James (third, 2010) have finished in the top four in the Heisman voting in the past.

Mariota also has won the Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback) and two other player of the year awards (Maxwell and Walter Camp).

The last player to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp in the same season was Cam Newton in 2010. Before that you would have to go back to the late 1990s when Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne did it in 1999 and Texas running back Ricky Williams did it in 1998.

Copyright 2014 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.