Gov. Kate Brown: States don't have the authority to refuse refug - KPTV - FOX 12

Gov. Kate Brown: States don't have the authority to refuse refugees

Posted: Updated:

Governors across the U.S. have been speaking out about allowing refugees into the country. Many have announced they will not accept them, saying security comes first.

On Tuesday, Governor Kate Brown posted a statement saying Oregon will continue to accept refugees. Gov. Brown spoke about it in person on Wednesday.

Brown acknowledges other governors are debating the issue of allowing refugees into their states. She said the law is pretty clear and says the states don't have the authority to act independently or refuse refugees.

"Numerous federal agencies vet these refugees, we have refugees coming in from all over the world and as long as they have been thoroughly vetted by the federal authorities, we will welcome them," said Governor Kate Brown. "Oregon is opening the doors of opportunity and will continue to open the doors of opportunity to refugees seeking asylum."

Gov. Brown said the number of refugees coming into Oregon would be small. So far this year, Oregon has received one refugee.

At least 30 governors have announced their states will not accept refugees.

Governors in at least 12 states have said they will welcome refugees, including Washington and California.

Copyright 2015 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.