Portland Timbers announce 2015 club awards - KPTV - FOX 12

Portland Timbers announce 2015 club awards

Posted: Updated:

The Portland Timbers announced their club awards for the 2015 Major League Soccer season on Wednesday.

Eight major awards were announced as the Timbers recognized achievements, performances and moments from the team's historic 2015 season.

The Timbers and the Portland Thorns FC also announced the recipients of academy and Olympic Development Program (ODP) player and coach awards.

Awards handed out:

Players’ Player of the Year – Diego Chara

Voted on by the players, midfielder Diego Chara was named the 2015 Players’ Player of the Year following a campaign that saw him register two goals and one assist in 28 appearances (all starts). Known throughout the league for his tireless and imposing work in the midfield, Chara logged the full 90 minutes in 26 of his 28 regular-season appearances and was named to the MLS Team of the Week for Week 33 of the regular season after tallying a goal in Portland’s pivotal, late-season road win against the LA Galaxy. This marks the second time in his five seasons in Portland that Chara has been named Players’ Player of the Year (2012).

Supporters’ Player of the Year – Diego Chara

Voted on by supporters and presented at the regular-season home finale on Oct. 25, Chara was named the Supporters’ Player of the Year for the second time in his five seasons with the Timbers. The hard-working defensive midfielder, who also earned the award in 2012, is a fan favorite for his willingness to put in the dirty work to support the team and has made 146 career MLS appearances for the Timbers since 2011 – which ranks sixth all-time across all eras.   

Golden Boot – Fanendo Adi

Forward Fanendo Adi was awarded the Golden Boot as the club’s leading goal-scorer in 2015. The striker set a new Timbers MLS-club record mark for goals in a single season, tallying 16 during the regular season and adding two more goals during postseason play for a total of 18 across all competitions. Adi’s goal-scoring total ranked seventh among all players in MLS. 

Unsung Hero – Nat Borchers

Defender Nat Borchers was named the Timbers’ Unsung Hero for the 2015 campaign. In his first season with the team, the center back started 31 matches, tallying an MLS-career-high-tying three goals during the regular season and finishing with a league-best 32 blocks. Borchers played an important role in Portland finishing with a league-high 13 shutouts during the regular season, while also tallying the game-winning goal in a 1-0 win against Real Salt Lake on the road on Aug. 15 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah.

Play of the Year – Portland Timbers lifting their first MLS Cup vs. Columbus, Dec. 6

The 2015 Timbers’ Play of the Year was awarded to the team lifting its first MLS Cup trophy following a 2-1 win against Columbus Crew SC in the league’s championship match on Dec. 6 at MAPFRE Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Midfielder Diego Valeri tallied the go-ahead goal just 27 seconds into the match against Crew SC, while midfielder Rodney Wallace netted the game-winning goal in the seventh minute with a well-placed diving header off assists from Darlington Nagbe and Lucas Melano to give Portland the win. The Timbers utilized a nine-game unbeaten run at the end of the regular season and through the postseason to capture their first league title in just their fifth MLS season, beating FC Dallas (conference championship), Vancouver Whitecaps FC (conference semifinals) and Sporting Kansas City (knockout round) in the playoffs. Portland finished the postseason with a total of nine different goal-scorers, the most of any team in the playoffs. Forward Maximiliano Urruti and Wallace each tallied goals in Portland’s dramatic, 7-6 penalty kick win in an MLS-record long 11-rounds of penalty kicks during the Knockout Round. In the conference semifinals, forward Fanendo Adi and midfielder Diego Chara tallied goals in the decisive second leg against Vancouver. Defenders Liam Ridgewell, Nat Borchers and midfielder Dairon Asprilla netted goals in the opening leg of the conference championship against FC Dallas, while Adi and Melano scored goals in the second leg to send Portland to MLS Cup. The Timbers finished the regular-season with an MLS-club record 15 wins and a league-best 13 shutouts, adding two more clean sheets during the postseason. 

Defender of the Year – Liam Ridgewell

Defender Liam Ridgewell was awarded the team’s Defender of the Year award for a second consecutive season in 2015. Captaining the squad to an MLS Cup title, Ridgewell appeared in 32 games (all starts) during the regular season, helping the Timbers register a league-best 13 clean sheets. The dependable defender also tallied a goal in the postseason, scoring in the first leg of the Western Conference Championship series against FC Dallas at Providence Park on Nov. 22.

Community Player of the Year – Adam Kwarasey

Goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey was an integral part of the Timbers’ efforts in the community during the 2015 season and was named Timbers Community Player of the Year. Taking an active role in the community through the club’s Stand Together platform, Kwarasey was engaged and dedicated to making a positive impact in the community as he participated in Stand Together Week with Playworks, worked with Special Olympics Oregon, interacting with athletes participating in the Cascadia Unified Challenge and visited the Children’s Cancer Association.

Up-and-Coming Player of the Year – George Fochive

Midfielder George Fochive was named the Timbers Up-and-Coming Player of the Year for 2015. Playing in his second season for the Timbers, Fochive made his MLS regular-season debut, starting in the club’s home opener against Real Salt Lake on March 7, logging 86 minutes. During the 2015 season, Fochive played in 11 games (8 starts) in regular-season play. He recorded his first career MLS assist on Oct. 25 in a 4-1 win over Colorado. In addition, Fochive started and played in eight games for T2, scoring four goals in the team’s inaugural season.

Timbers U-23s Player of the Year – Todd Wharton

Timbers Academy Player of the Year (2014-15) – Terrell Lowe

Timbers ODP Boys Coach of the Year – Dave Peterson

Timbers ODP Boys Player of the Year – Nico Lopez

Timbers/Thorns FC ODP Girls Coach of the Year – Keith Bleyer

Timbers/Thorns FC ODP Girls Player of the Year – Katie Duong

Timbers Camp Girls Coach of the Year – Rayssa Lira

Timbers Camp Boys Coach of the Year – Max von Rabenau

Copyright 2015 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
FOX 12
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation, Portland, OR . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.