Cedar Creek Fire declared emergency, new ‘Level 2′ evacuations Friday

Cedar Creek Fire declared emergency, new ‘Level 2′ evacuations Friday
Cedar Creek Fire declared emergency, new ‘Level 2′ evacuations Friday(Oregon State Fire Marshal)
Published: Sep. 8, 2022 at 6:18 PM PDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LANE COUNTY Ore. (KPTV) – Gov. Kate Brown declared an emergency for the the Lane County Cedar Creek Fire on Friday, according to the Oregon State Fire Marshal.

Earlier on Friday, the Lane County Sheriff’s Office upgraded evacuation notices for Greater Oakridge, Westfir and and High Prairie areas to Level 2: “Be Set.”

“You must prepare to leave at a moment’s notice, and this may be the only notice that you receive to evacuate as needed,” the sheriff’s office said.

Officials are asking people in the area to keep cell phones and any other devices that can receive emergency alerts charged. Residents should also make sure that they have adequate fuel to evacuate.

All previous evacuation notices remain in effect. Watch the Lane County Sheriff’s Office Facebook page for evacuation notices or visit the Lane County information website.

Level Three “Go Now” orders that remain in place for the following areas:

  • Islet Campground, North Waldo Campground and Harralson Horse Camp.
  • All dispersed camping and recreation in the area east of the Waldo Lake shoreline between the United State Forest Service forest closure to the north, and south to Shadow Bay Campground, and east to the Charlton Lake and Taylor Lake areas.
  • Forest Service Road 19 (Aufderheide Drive) from milepost 20 (just east of Kiahanie Campground) to milepost 35 (south of Roaring River Campground). This includes the Box Canyon Campground, Box Canyon Staging Area/Horse Camp and Skookum Creek Campground and all surrounding dispersed camping areas.
  • Irish and Taylor Lake campgrounds and dispersed camping in the Charlton and Taylor lakes areas and north along the Pacific Crest Trail to Lindick Lake.

Level Two orders that remain in place:

  • The area between Taylor Lake and Lemish Lake along the Taylor Burn Road, including the Many Lakes and Metolius-Windigo Trailheads.
  • Greater Oakridge area.
  • Westfir area.
  • High Prairie area.

Follow up to date evacuation orders on the Lane County Twitter account above or on the Lane County website.