Gov. Kate Brown during COVID-19 press conference file image

Gov. Kate Brown during prior press conference (KPTV file image)

PORTLAND, OR (KPTV) - There will now be 26 counties in the extreme level for COVID-19 in Oregon.

Gov. Kate Brown announced the updated risk levels Tuesday.

Effective Jan. 15 through Jan. 28, there will be 26 counties in the extreme risk level. That continues to include Multnomah, Washington, Clackamas and Marion counties.

Baker, Clatsop, Coos and Morrow counties are being moved from high risk to extreme risk. Curry County was downgraded from extreme risk to moderate risk, and Lake County was moved from Lower Risk to Moderate Risk.

Six Oregon counties are at the lowest level – lower risk.

The risk levels determine what businesses and activities are closed, whether restaurants can serve customers indoors, as well as how many people can shop in stores, attend church services or gather socially with people from other households.

Restaurants, for example, under extreme risk can only offer outdoor dining and takeout services.

LINK: Oregon risk levels and what they mean

County risk levels will be reassigned every two weeks. The first week's data will provide a "warning week" to prepare counties for potential risk level changes. The next assignment of risk levels will be announced Jan. 26 and take effect Jan. 29.

Also on Tuesday, Gov. Brown announced that vaccine distribution in Oregon would be expanded to Oregon seniors 65 years and older, child care providers and PK-12 educators and staff beginning Jan. 23

Copyright 2021 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved. 


Recommended for you

(4) comments


Kate the tyrant is a friggin idiot.

Maddog 10

Brown will do anything to keep us locked down.


She is going to be responsible for the formation of the new state of Jefferson


What an idiot.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.