Fireworks File Image

KPTV image

GRESHAM, OR (KPTV) - Gresham has joined a growing list of cities that have banned the use of all fireworks due to recent hot temperatures and dry conditions.

The ban is effective immediately and remains in effect until July 9. Gresham police can issue a fine up to $2,500 for violations of the city's emergency order.

“I urge residents to celebrate responsibly with family and friends, with food and games, and in compliance with the fireworks ban, so that we may all enjoy a safe and fire-free Independence Day,” said Gresham Fire Chief Mitch Snyder.

Anyone who would like to report fireworks is asked to call the non-emergency line at 503-823-3333.

Portland bans sales of fireworks within city limits

Portland, Tualatin, Milwaukie, Wilsonville, and Forest Grove have all issued bans on fireworks. Portland has also banned the sale of all fireworks within city limits. Washington cities that have also banned fireworks due to fire danger are Battle Ground, Ridgefield, La Center, Camas and Washougal. Vancouver has an existing fire ban on all fireworks within its city limits. Clark County and unincorporated Clackamas County have issued bans as well.

Copyright 2021 KPTV-KPDX Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved. 

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.